Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Montgomery, AL

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montessori Academy 3

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
I like Montessori Academy for my son academically and socially but I think its highly overrated for the price. Don't get me wrong. The teachers are great and it is a great learning enviroment. However, it is entirely too expensive and the price is increasing. They close for every holiday and a week for spring break, Thanksgiving week, and two weeks for Christmas break. Full tuition is still required even though school is closed too. There are too many fees. Nothing seems to be included in the tuition price. There is a curriculum fee, monthly supply fee, cot fee, a meal ticket (lunch is not included) and once a month parents must supply snack for entire class. Additonally, I constantly have billing issues. I'm set up on autodraft and they never seem to draft payments consistently. One month they'll draft at the beginning of the month and then the next month at the end. They'll send invoices home quarterly showing the amount due and that they will draft on certain day. They never do it when they say! It's frustrating. If it wasn't so expensive and the location wasn't out of the way, I would love to keep my son at this school but I have to find something else.

Montessori Academy 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
Montessori Academy is the best pre-school in Montgomery. The competition is not even close. We attended Montessori Academy for three years then moved our child to a new school for the last year of pre-school - worst mistake as parents we have ever done. Your child will be exposed to science, geography, literature, and cultures while they receive the fundamentals they need for kindergarten. The only complaints we had with Montessori Academy were with the billing (could never get it right) & they follow the Montgomery Public School calendar, so the school seems to be off way more than most pre-schools. Despite those 2 cons, your child will get the best pre-school education for a fair price. Don't consider sending your child to any other pre-school.


Montessori Academy 5

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
I'm giving this school 5 stars based on the teachers, curriculum and results. I've had children in this school since 2006. The teachers are very loving and creative and genuinely care about your children. My children were accepted to both magnet schools and the top private schools in the area and were leaps and bounds ahead of their peers. My children were exposed to science, new cultures, art, all while learning the fundamentals needed for kindergarten and beyond. Children are taught how to deal with their peers in a peaceful way, that I believe follows them growing up. Now for the cons... the facilities are old/run down and in a questionable area, parking is terrible, its for profit and the administration is dicey.... have had multiple issues with billing. The school runs on the same schedule as public school, so it shuts down for the long winter break and is definitely off more than most preschool. The secondary staff has a lot of turn around and isn't as good as the core teachers. Cons aside, I wouldn't send my kids any place else for their early years, just wanted to be honest.

Montessori Academy 5

Posted November 30, 2012
- a parent
My two kids are here-- ages 2 and 4. I drive out of the way to take the kids here-- I was first kind of reluctant about the area of town-- but it's just great and there have been no problems. I agree with other reviewer about the "motherly" part-- they really seem to pay attention to every part of my child's day--and I love that they are NO sugar. They are very open about any concerns-- although truthfully I've had very very few. We love it.

Montessori Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2011
- a parent
Best school in Montgomery. Period. Both of our kids (now 2 and 5) attended this school since they were 1. The best way to describe these teachers is "Motherly". These teachers LOVED our kids. I felt 100% comfortable knowing they were safe at school and loved and encouraged. My son was light years ahead of kids his same age that attended the "prestigious" private school that I worked for (Named after a particular Saint). We moved out of town and sadly the closest Mont. school to us is poorly rated. Ignore the review here about "All about the money". We felt the price was VERY fair for what we got and the school didn't constantly ask for money. I am a cheap-skate and penny pinched and I know when I am being pinched. I didn't feel this way here. The only Cons are the accounting. Bills would get messed up all the time. But they were cool about it if I paid late as a result of not getting an invoice. I never had to pay late fees. At worse it was just frustrating.


Montessori Academy 5

Posted June 01, 2010
- a parent
My children attended this phenomenal institution for the year that we were based on Montgomery. We could not be more pleased. Please contact the school to check it out. Very friendly to military families and the most ethnically and culturally diverse school in Montgomery.

Montessori Academy 5

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
My 2 year old son started at this school in Aug 07 and I couldn't be happier. The teachers are so caring, friendly and supportive. They have wonderful learning activities and are much more organized that other programs/schools. As well, each class has their own playground and has outdoor play whenever the weather permits. If you are unsure, take a tour of this wonderful school to see for yourself.

Montessori Academy 2

Posted January 18, 2007
- a parent
Montessori Academy is totally over rated. My child has attended this school for three years, each year I have become more and more disappointed with this school. There is very little parental input allowed from the parents, although this is a private school. This school is totally for profit with very little interest for the children's success. They are constantly asking for more from the parents and not giving to the children in return. Expensive does not mean better in this case.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Academy
1025 South Hull Street, Montgomery, AL  36104
(334) 262-8685
Last modified Montessori Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Montessori Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top