Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pioneer Christian Academy 1

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
This school is AWFUL! I took my daughter out of this school today! Several reasons why! They are NOT certified by DHR, they have 27 kids in one class with only two teachers, boys and girls go potty in one big room all together unsupervised( I have seen it with my own eyes), no security, I have walked in and no one was up front and no one was even in the class room with the kids they were in a room next to them with the door open, my fianc went to pick up my daughter one day and they didn't even check his ID.... And so much more. But most importantly the director "Stephanie " is CRAZY! She blew up on me today when I told her I was taking my child out! She threatened me by saying she had a lawyer and that she has legal rights to do things and that he will be contacting me! Then rolled her eyes at me and said whatever and walked off! DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE!!!

Pioneer Christian Academy 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
My child had a fantastic summer at Pioneer!! My child is very shy and I am a very involved parent. My child did not come to camp with a friend, so I called and checked in a lot. The teachers were wonderful as well as the director, all my calls returned all concerns answered. Great school would recommend!!! My child loved all the activities and there outdoor playground.


Pioneer Christian Academy 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
Pioneer is one of the best daycare centers in Hoover! The center and Its' staff repeatedly exceed your expectations in so may ways. Pioneer is a great choice for preschool and after school care. I highly recommend Pioneer to parents that want the best for their children.

Pioneer Christian Academy 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
I live in Bluff Park and I currently teach in the Hoover City School System. My 2 children were practically raised at Pioneer. We stopped by just yesterday to visit the owners, to let them know how well our children are doing in school. We attribute much of this to their strong reading foundation taught at Pioneer. I can't tell you what an impact this family owned buisness made on our family. Both my husband and I worked full time while raising our children. They have so many fond memories at this daycare!! After surfing the web and reading the previous absurb review, I wanted to take a moment to tell how special this daycare is. I would also encourage anyone wanting a proper review for this daycare, to call any of the local Hoover City Schools for a reference. You will find that Pioneer has touched so many hearts in Bluff Park.!

Pioneer Christian Academy 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
I went to Pioneer as a child and now I am sending my child there!! Guess what, I have run into other alumni too, crazy! I can remember as a child playing in summer kickball tournaments with students from the Fresh Air Farm in Bluff Park. The director was so much fun and we would also have Mash Potato Wars!!! Yep, those are memories never to fade. I would say I had a great time as a child at Pioneer, and now my son plays kickball everyday, and goes to the arcade room. So far, no word on another Mash Potato War, but if it is ever planned, I'll take off work to particiapate.


Pioneer Christian Academy 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
I have a kindergarten age child entering 5k public school. My child is finishing up her 4k class. She is now reading on a second grade level! She read her first 53 page book and since then has been reading up a storm. She knows over one hundred sight words. I took her to Bluff Park Elementary School for an evaluation, and the teacher complimented her reading ability. I am very satisfied with this program. I plan to enroll her sibling in the fall.

Pioneer Christian Academy 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Pioneer is one the best things that ever happened for our family. The staff is always caring while demanding respect from the children. As working parents with careers, you cannot always be there for your children but it sure is great knowing the morals and values being planted in the minds of your children are the same as ones dear to your heart. Pioneer stresses Christian beliefs that unfortunately main-stream society seems to be dismissing. Honesty, respect and self confidence are the words that best describe the characteristics Pioneer is developing in my children. I can't say enough about the program and highly recommend the school to all parents in the area.

Pioneer Christian Academy 1

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
THERE IS A REASON THIS SCHOOL IS NOT DHR CERTIFIED.... Seriously. This school was probably great when the original owners were alive but now it's just awful... Really. I know it sounds harsh but I can honestly say that if my child was not starting kindergarten in the fall I would have found another school the day we started. It's a mystery to me how this school stays in business. On any given day you can stop in and a group of 15 to 20 4 or 5 year olds is being supervised by one teacher and in this group particulary, that teacher is over the age of 60. Watching that many kids gives me anxiety and I am young and just have two. On one particular afternoon I was picking up my child and I over heard the director of the school, I guess that's what you call her, tell one mom of a little girl that she needed to have her child's blue form updated soon because she "didn't want them coming back in here". When you aren't DHR certified I don't know who oversees you but I thought "if you aren't doing anything wrong what do you have to hide?" The school is kind of unsanitary and who knows what they are feeding the kids. When asking about snack: "popsicle". Lunch is at 11:00.


Pioneer Christian Academy 1

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
Awful experience: I thought I was being unreasonable so I went online to do some research. From DHRs website: 6. Documents to be posted in a conspicuous place in the center a. Most recent license, permit, or approval from the Department. Effective January 22, 2001/Reprinted April, 2009 58 b. Public notice form (See Appendix N., page 99, for copy.) c. Most recent licensing evaluation form. d. Most recent deficiency report form from the Department. e. Corrective or adverse action notices from the Department. f. Most recent fire inspection report. g. Most recent Health Department inspection report and food permit or written permission from the Health Department to cater food. h. Menu for meals and snacks. i. Name and telephone number(s) posted by center telephone(s): (1) Fire department; (2) Law enforcement; (3) Medical assistance (ambulance or rescue); (4) Poison control center; (5) Substitute help. j. Emergency procedures (See Section D., 7., page 34, for details.) k. The name or the director or staff person in charge. (Revised effective December 8, 2006) These are MINIMUM requirements for a daycare center. This place does not even have this stuff posted.

Pioneer Christian Academy 2

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
I was very disappointed with my experience here. I had always heard wonderful things about them. Something has obviously changed. Several of the teachers were not caring toward my child and a family member was able to pick her up for the first time without being asked for ID.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pioneer Christian Academy
2262 Chapel Road, Hoover, AL  35226
(205) 823-2431
Last modified Pioneer Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Pioneer Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top